Schools out for the Summer: Fun programs are available for all ages

MANSON/CHELAN - Manson Parks provides ongoing swimming lessons at Manson Bay Park throughout the summer. These lessons are led by Viki Downey, American Red Cross Certified Water Safety Instructor . Lessons are for people ages four and up (teens and adults, too). Registration began on April 15 and it’s still open. Registration can be done online at swimmansonbay.com.

Session 1
June 17 - 27, Monday-Thursday
Session 2
July 8 - 18, Monday-Thursday
Session 3
July 22 - Aug. 1, Monday-Thursday
Session 4
August 5 - 15, Monday-Thursday

Yoga
Yogachelan in partnership with Manson Parks will kick off Gentle Mix Yoga classes for adults beginning on June 18 at the Manson Board Room on Pedoi St. Every Tuesday and Thursday from 8:00 a.m. to about 9:15 a.m., join instructor Sue Pettit for the “stress reducer” class. Dress comfortably, yoga mats available to borrow, bring a beach towel or blanket, arrive 10 minutes before class time. Registration is available online at www.yogachelan.com or in person with Sue. Yogachelan pass is accepted and drop-ins are welcome.
For questions call or text Sue (503)351-6578 or email sue@yogachelan.com

North Central Regional Library - Chelan and Manson
Libraries across North Central Washington are gearing up for a summer filled with reading challenges, theatrical programs, science and technology, crafts and more.
This year, North Central Regional Library is offering a full lineup of programs at all 30 of its public libraries in Chelan, Douglas, Grant, Okanogan and Ferry counties, as well as its two bookmobiles and bilingual outreach service.

Signups have begin.

This year, NCRL will expand its traditional summer program to include a wide array of opportunities people of all ages can experience at the library. Everyone can earn rewards by reading books, doing activities with their friends and family at the library, attending programs, using online services offered by the library, and getting out and exploring their community.

“The goal is still to encourage pleasure reading, but also to engage everyone with all of NCRL’s resources and to foster a strong sense of community,” said Abby Osborn, children’s services manager for NCRL.

The summer program will feature several returning favorites to the libraries, including Chelan County PUD and Grant County PUD programs and the library district’s STEM specialists doing fun science experiments like galaxy slime. This year’s theme is “A Universe of Stories” and many of the programs and crafts are built around astronauts and space.

Additional programs include:
• Book-It Repertory Theatre of Seattle performing “The Odyssey: an exploration of Myth, Magic and Monsters”, June 24 to 28.
• Dancer Susan Wickett-Ford presents Village Rhythms Around the World, June 24 to 28.
• Knights of Veritas demonstrate medieval astronomy, swords and armor, July 8 to 12.
• Magician Jeff Evans presents his Out of this World Magic Show, July 8 to 12.
• STYLE Music Variety Show offers music inspired by children’s and young adult literature, July 15-19.
• Sean Gaskell offers a musical and educational presentation on the West African Kora — a 21-stringed harp traditionally played by oral and musical historians in Gambia, July 15-20.
• Actress Michele LaRue brings vintage American literature to life with her Tales Well Told series, July 15-25.
• The Burke Museum Dig In! program showcases fossils and prehistoric plants and animals, July 22 to 26.
• Author/songwriter Eric Ode presents a music and poetry-filled space adventure, July 22 to 26.
• Jennifer Pharr Davis, a hiker, author, speaker and National Geographic Adventurer of the Year, who has hiked more than 14,000 miles on six continents, July 22 to 26.
• The Traveling Lantern Theater Co. presents “My Mother the Astronaut”, July 29 to Aug. 2.
• The Burke Museum Living Traditions program, explores traditions still practiced by contemporary Native Americans of the PNW, Aug. 5 to 9.
• Didgeridoo Down Under, an Australian-themed show that combines music, culture, puppetry, comedy, storytelling and audience participation, Aug. 12-16.
“We have more all-ages programs than ever before so the whole family can attend together,” said Jessica Lynch, teen services manager for NCRL.

Chelan Public Library
216 N. Emerson Street
(509) 682-5131

JUNE
June 19 (Wed.) 3 p.m. Kids Craft: Decorate Your Book Bag
June 20 (Thurs.) 4-5 p.m. Storytime in the Park with Alex
June 21 (Fri.) 3 p.m. Teen Time: Duct Tape Wallet
June 22 (Sat.) 3-6 p.m. Arts Festival Craft Booth in Riverwalk Park
June 25 (Tues.) 3 p.m. Book-it Theatre: The Odyssey
June 26 (Wed.) 3 p.m. Kids Craft: Clay Moon
June 27 (Thurs.) 4-5 p.m. Storytime in the Park with Alex
June 27 (Thurs.) 5:30 p.m. Adult Art: Alcohol Ink with Cindy Uhrich

JULY
July 2 (Tues.) 3-5 p.m. Makey-Make with Sherry
July 3 (Wed.) 3 p.m. Kids Craft: 4th of July
July 8 (Mon.) 3 p.m. Out-of-This-World Magic Show
July 9 (Tues.) 3-5 p.m. Makey-Make with Sherry
July 10 (Wed.) 3 p.m. Kids Craft: Wooden Rocket
July 11 (Thurs.) 4-5 p.m. Storytime in the Park with Alex
July 12th (Fri.) 3 p.m. Teen Time: Paracord Bracelet
July 16 (Tues.) 3 p.m. Chelan County PUD: Transfers and Circuits
July 17 (Wed.) 4 p.m. STYLE Music Variety Show
July 18 (Thurs.) 4-5 p.m. Storytime in the Park with Alex
July 19 (Fri.) 3 p.m. Teen Time: Constellation in a Box
July 9th (Fri.) 6 p.m. Actress Michèle LaRue Performs My Summer Vacation
July 22 (Mon.) 3 p.m. The Burke Museum Presents: Dig In!
July 23 (Tues.) 3-5 p.m. Makey-Make with Sherry
July 24 (Wed.) 3 p.m. Kids Craft: Telescope
July 25 (Thurs.) 4-5 p.m. Storytime in the Park with Alex
July 25 (Thurs.) 5:30 p.m. Adult Art: Rock Painting
July 29 (Mon.) 3 p.m. Puppet Show
July 30 (Tues.) 3-5 p.m. Makey-Make with Sherry
July 31 (Wed.) 3 p.m. Kids Craft: Button Moon

AUGUST
August 1 (Thurs.) 4-5 p.m. Storytime in the Park with Alex
August 2 (Fri.) 3 p.m. Teen Time: Space Rocks
August 6 (Tues.) 3-5 p.m. Makey-Make with Sherry
August 7 (Wed.) 2 p.m. STEM Space Science
August 8 (Thurs.) 4-5 p.m. Storytime in the Park with Alex
August 8 (Thurs.) 5:30 p.m. Adult Art: ATC’s with Cindy Uhrich
August 13 (Tues.) 3-5 p.m. Makey-Make with Sherry
August 13 (Tues.) 6:30 p.m. Didgeridoo Down Under
August 14th (Wed.) 3pm Kids Craft: Pool Noodle Aliens
August 15 (Thurs.) 4-5 p.m. Storytime in the Park with Alex
August 16 (Fri.) 3 p.m. Teen Time: Wired Trees
August 20 (Tues.) 3-5 p.m. Makey-Make with Sherry
August 21 (Wed.) 3 p.m. Kids Craft: Galaxy in a Jar
August 22 (Thurs.) 4-5 p.m. Storytime in the Park with Alex
August 22 (Thurs.) 5:30 p.m. Adult Art: Wired Jewelry Tree
August 27 (Tues.) 3-5 p.m. Makey-Make with Sherry
August 28 (Wed.) 3 p.m. Kids and Teens End of Summer Program Pizza Party
August 29 (Thurs.) 4-5 p.m. Storytime in the Park with Alex
August 29 (Thurs.) 5:30 p.m. Music, Trivia, and Cider: End of Summer Celebration at Rootwood Cider
August 30 (Fri.) 10:30 a.m. Baby Bubble Party

Manson Public Library
80 Wapato Way
(509) 687-3420

JUNE
June 19 (Wed.) 11:15 a.m. Preschool Storytime
June 19 (Wed.) 12 p.m. Stories and Crafts (All Ages)
June 24 (Mon.) 1 p.m. Puppet Show (All Ages)
June 26 (Wed.) 11:15 a.m. Preschool Storytime
June 26 (Wed.) 12 p.m. Stories and Craft (All Ages)
June 27 (Thurs.) 4pm TEEN Program: Crafts
 

JULY

July 1 (Mon.) 11 a.m. STEM with Sherry
July 2 (Tues.) 6 p.m. Glass Etching for Adults*
July 3 (Wed.) 11:15 a.m. Preschool Storytime
July 3 (Wed.) 12 p.m. Stories & Crafts (All Ages)
July 4 (Thurs.) Library Closed: Happy 4th of July!
July 8 (Mon.) 11 a.m. Chelan County PUD: Transfers and Circuits (All Ages)
July 10 (Wed.) 11:15 a.m. Preschool Storytime
July 10 (Wed.) 12 p.m. Stories and Crafts (All Ages)
July 11 (Thurs.) 4 p.m. TEEN Program: Crafts
July 15 (Mon.) 1 p.m. Artist Trading Cards with Artist Cindy U. (All Ages)
July 16 (Tues.) 4 p.m. 4:00 R.E.T. - Jr. Book Club
July 17 (Wed.) 11:15 a.m Preschool Storytime
July 17 (Wed.) 1 p.m. STYLE Music Variety Show (All Ages)
July 22 (Mon.) 11 a.m. Burke Museum Presents: Dig In (All Ages)
July 23rd (Tues.) 4 p.m. TEEN Program: Sculptionary
July 24 (Wed.) 11:15 a.m. Preschool Storytime
July 24 (Wed.) 12 p.m. Stories and Crafts (All Ages)
July 25(Thurs.) 1 p.m. STEM Space Science Program (All Ages)
July 29 (Mon.) 11 a.m. Traveling Lantern Theater (All Ages)
July 31 (Wed.) 11:15 a.m. Preschool Storytime
July 31 (Wed.) 12 p.m. Stories and Crafts (All Ages)

AUGUST
August 1(Thurs.) 4 p.m. TEEN Program: Crafts
August 5 (Mon.) 11 a.m. STEM with Sherry
August 6 (Tues.) 4 p.m. TEEN Program: Newspaper Fashion Show
August 7 (Wed.) 11:15 a.m. Preschool Storytime
August 7 (Wed.) 12 p.m. Stories and Craft (All Ages)
August 12 (Mon.) 11 a.m. STEM with Sherry
August 14 (Wed.) 11 a.m. NCRL Presents a Puppet Show (All Ages)
August 15 (Thurs.) 11 a.m. SLP Party at Manson Bay Park (All Ages)
August 20 (Tues.) 4 p.m. 4:00 R.E.T. - Jr. Book Club
August 29 (Thurs.) 5:30 p.m. Adult Summer Celebration (Location to be announced.)

Preschool storytime will resume on Sept. 4
*Sign-up required. Stop by the library or call 687-3420 to register.

User menu

NCW Media Newspapers